Summer Camp 2012

Since I was 14, I started joining Christmas and Summer Institutes for the United Methodist Youth Fellowship. Yeah, I’m a proud Methodist. So, these institutes where held for at least four days on different locations. (I went to Cavite for a Christmas Institute once and had a blast!) But this year’s different. It was for five days on two different locations. The first three days were held at Pulung Masle Elementary School (where the first Children’s Camp I attended was held 10 years ago) and the remaining two days were held at The Highland Iba, Zambales. To be more precise and exciting, let’s do this a day at a time.

Notice: This will be painfully long. Have patience, my friend.

Day 1: May 1, 2012

We planned on being the Earliest Delegation but we failed, First UMC beat us on that title. Then, we registered and they gave us these booklets containing all we need for our 3-day stay on the school. It has the programs for the worships and devotions and lectures. It also has our schedule which you can see on the third picture. Then they gave us pins with our names for ID, but I lost mine on the bus we rode to Zambales.

We had the orientation, then lunch, then meeting per cluster. I belong to the Porac Cluster because our church is located at Planas, Porac, Pampanga. After the meeting, the games started. I played at the Human Dama but we lost. But on the other games, like Call the Number, Tug of War, Patintero, Sack Race, we made it to the championships. After the tiring games, the District Youth Conference begun where the future District Officers were picked.

After dinner, the welcome night started consisting of three parts. The Fun Night, Workers Night, and Welcome Night. It was really fun because I enjoyed the performances. After that, we then proceed to the practice for the Dance Contest by cluster to be held on May 3. Then we had our cabin devotion. Let me share a few inspiring lines I got at the devotion.

“Forget what’s happened; don’t keep going over old history. Be alert, be present. I’m about to do something brand new. —Isaiah 43:18-19”

“Going over and over the wounds from the past does nothing to heal them. It only keeps the wounds open and bleeding.”

“Letting go unlocks the door to our hearts, and God can fill it with all the wonderful things only He can bring into our lives.”

Lights Off at 11PM!

Day 2: May 2, 2012

For the second day, I mostly slept. These pictures were the proof of it.

The highlight of the day was the lectures. Lecture1: Know Thyself Biologically and Lecture2: Know Thyself Psychologically. I love the second part because I love the speaker and her message. I was moved by it. Even though I’m feeling a bit lonely by these times because I’m a senior now and I do not know anyone at the Seniors but I coped.

After dinner was served, we watched How To Train Your Dragon. I watched the last part on my teacher’s house so that was a spoiler but I enjoyed it. Especially the funny parts.

We just prayed for our next cabin devotion cause the Officers were saying “Lights Out!” It was past 11PM by the way.

Day 3: May 3, 2012

For the third day, we had our last lecture which was Know Thyself Spiritually. I listened to this very carefully because I know that it’ll help me a lot. I realized that I am beautiful, really beautiful because I am made from God’s image. I won’t doubt my worth anymore.

After lunch, we had the championships which we won. We were the champions for two consecutive years now. I’, so proud to be part of the Porac Cluster. Then the dance Contest was held. The four clusters were asked to make a dance routine based on the song Deep Cries Out. It was a very lively song that you can’t help but dance to. Unfortunately, we lost. But we got 3rd place! that was something.

After the pledge and dinner, we had the Prayer for Youth Ministry then we prepared for our Zambales Trip the next day. I was so excited that night. We even had a midnight snack celebrating our win in the Games.

Day 4: May 4, 2012

We left the school at around 10AM. I am with Renzie because our other church mates rode on the other bus. It was awkward being in a bus that has no one you know. The ride was painful. But the outcome was worth it. We arrived at The Highlands with high spirits because the view was spectacular. I was amazed of how strict the officials they have but I know it was for our own good. We received our ID’s and pamphlets and went straight to our dorms which are so big that 60 people can fit in it.

The day went on. I don’t want to elaborate anymore because I want you to experience it yourself. I don’t wanna spoil all the fun.

Day 5: May 5, 2012

I was sad leaving the camp. But I feel so blessed that I think I can do all things! It was really overwhelming that I can’t put it into words.

So that’s it. I hope you were with me until the end. I hope you enjoyed my mini adventure. Hope you had an adventure of your own too!

P.S. Because I feel so blessed, I accepted the chance to be the liturgist on our Sunday Service. I know that God was with me through it all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

