Howls

After living a few days in the forest, I’m starting to regret my decision to escape. I am starving! Food found in the forest does not provide the nourishment I need. The ambrosia I brought is nearly gone and I’m not even halfway there. This is a nightmare.

I’m on the verge of calling Mother to take me back when I heard a noise. Is that crying?

The sound of crying makes my people happy. They enjoy the torment humans experience when in heart break. They feed from the melancholic sound of crying and grew strong because of it. That is why my kind is the most powerful of all faeries. Because suffering and ordeal are the only thing constant in this mad world.

I started towards the sound. Then a strong feeling struck me.

Is this? But it’s impossible! She’s, I’m very certain that the human’s a she, crying! Isn’t that a mark of despair? Then why am I feeling this? This, I can’t explain it, invigorates my whole being! Is this it?

Is this true love?

But she’s crying, for Heartfelt Kingdom’s sake! She’s in misery but its true love? These humans are making me lightheaded. I think I should rest. Maybe this feeling would go away after a few moments. Maybe I’m just hallucinating because of weariness. I’ll just sit under this very good old tree and hope that after a few, I’ll be in a good shape again.

“Excuse me?”

Oh. I think I fell asleep. Who is this weird looking being? Is this a human?

“Yes?”

We faeries know how to communicate in 47 different languages. That is the perks of being in the world for far too long. We have adapted to different cultures of different countries without them even noticing it. Humans are blind, figuratively, because they only see what they want to see. That is what they call their defense mechanism. It’s what their dense brain does when they do not like what they see, they fool themselves.

“Are you okay? You look a little pale. Let me help you up.”

“Thank you. That is kind of you.”

It’s a good thing I’ve worn my cloak to hide my wings and my elf ears. I need to alter my features immediately. It will take some time and some energy but I think I can handle it. I just have to pause the time a bit.

There, all done.

“Are you lost? I live just by the base of the mountain.”

That is something new. I didn’t know that there are humans living at the base of our kingdom. I thought it was heavily enchanted that no human can come near it. I guess I was wrong.

“I guess I was.”

“You could come down with me. It’ll get dark soon and you don’t want to be alone in this forest when that time comes. This place is enchanted. It gets really creepy at night.”

“Aren’t you afraid of me?”

“Nope. Why would I be? You look harmless.”

You don’t know what you are saying human. No faery is harmless.

“Come on. Let’s get out of here. By the way I’m Cassie, Cassie Jones. You are?”

“I’m Kida, Kida Hea. It was nice meeting you Cassie Jones.”

“Nice to meet you too, Kida. Now let’s go, my grandma’s waiting for me. She gets really impatient sometimes.”

 

This is the second of the My Heart Faery story I’m writing in Wattpad. Enjoy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

