Homemade Lasagna, Bon Appetit

as

I planned on cooking this on my birthday but never got the chance to do it so I decided to make this today because we have no classes (hooray for the Teacher’s Summit thingy) and basically, I’m hungry.

I am not an aspiring chef or anything but I can cook. I think the part of me that can cook is hereditary because my Mom is an amazing cook. She just let me do this on my own though.

This is the most basic lasagna recipe you’ll see because it’s not made to wow thousands of people, it’s made to fill my family’s stomach (basically) and to put a smile in our hearts (baby just a smile in your heart, oh, singing again). Also, it’s a spur-of-the-moment decision so we just do what ingredients we have.

To start of, gather all of your rikados or ingredients. I can’t exactly point out the grams you’ll need for everything. Sorry for the crappy tutorial, well, sort of. 🙂

For the Meat Sauce I (keyword I) used:

  • ground pork (you could use beef)
  • tomato sauce (or canned tomatoes if you like, other recipes have tomato paste too)
  • butter
  • garlic
  • onion
  • celery (you could use spinach)
  • salt and pepper to taste (some recipes have herbs and spices but we have none so yeah, I’ve skipped that part)

For the Cheese Sauce:

  • butter
  • flour
  • milk (I used evaporated milk but fresh milk will do)
  • cheese (I used a quick melt one but Parmesan is advisable)

For the pasta, I used large pasta sheets. Since we don’t have any oven “oven”, I boiled the sheets resulting into a not-so-sheet-looking pasta. I told you this is homemade.

Okay, moving on to procedures. Sorry for the lack of culinary vocabulary, or for the misuse thereof.

For the meat sauce:

  • Melt butter into pan (preferably medium heat) then saute garlic and onion. After a minute, stir in the pork. Cook until brown. Then add all the remaining ingredients. Simmer then season to taste. Set aside.

For cheese sauce:

  • Mix equal amounts of butter and flour in a pan over low heat. When properly combined, slowly add milk. Stir until thick. Then add the cheese and continue stirring until well blended. Set aside.

I boiled the pasta already so it’s time to assemble. In the recipe at the back of the box of the pasta, they started with the meat sauce (after “grazing” the pan with butter of course ’cause they meant to put it in the oven) then cheese sauce then pasta. In mine, I started with the pasta (because we have so much) then meat sauce, then cheese sauce, then grated cheese, then the cycle goes on. I made four layers and topped it with lots of grated quick melt cheese. I put it in the oven toaster and I’m done.

ase

So here’s me and my bro enjoying my fruit of labor. Amazingly, it tasted good, though a bit short on salt. It kind of looked un-eatable because of the messy pasta but I’ll definitely learn from this experience.

cats

More sort-of recipes, tutorials, and fun next time! Bye for now~!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Lasagna, Bon Appetit

Leave a Reply

