One Of The Greatest Things

Hello everyone and hello summer! It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything other than some shots so here I am making up for it.

How was your summer vacation so far? I’m on vacation mode for 3 weeks now and so far so good. I’ve missed some outings but I can live with that. I’ll tell you about my other adventures on another post.

So one’s greatest things might be different for everybody because we don’t share the same perspectives in life. But we might have some things in common right? Mine would be when I felt that I was needed by a kid.

It was last April 1. We just arrived in Manila and were immediately transported to Quezon City Memorial Circle for a post-birthday celebration picnic. I was always (always) the babysitter of my younger cousins (whenever, wherever). I don’t mind at all. I love kids more than anything. That day was no different for my babysitting duties. My cousins Gelo (5 years old), Gabby (7 years old), and Ian (8 years old) dragged me to the playground. There I patiently watched them play from one slide to another, keeping distance but always looking out for them. When they were about to go to a further slide, I noticed Gelo looking around, I guess looking for me. I was somewhat obscured from his view. When he didn’t see me, he went back to our table to ask where I was. Then my mom pointed at me and I waved at him. He came running to me. Taking my hand, he once again dragged me to another slide.

That right there was one of the greatest things I am thankful for, being a “Ate” or older sister to my cousins. It feels so nice to know that they need me, that they ask for my guidance, that they love me enough to remember me in the middle of their play time. I was smiling the whole time I was watching Gelo searching, looking for me.

It really warmed my heart knowing that even at a young age I mean something to this precious kid.

Image

Leave a Reply

